Dai Fujikura: 8 questions

Dai Fujikura’s Double Bass Concerto is one of the pieces receiving its world premiere during our Pavilions: New Music Show 2 on 5 November at Southbank Centre’s Queen Elizabeth Hall.  Find out what Dai worries about during concerts, where he has many of his compositional ideas and what he considers to be perfection.

Dai Fujikura

 

What do you fear the most and why?

“Will musicians play the actual notes I wrote at the concert?”…”What if someone collapses in the audience during my piece and unwittingly disrupts the performance?”…”What if a power cut happens during the performance, and all the monitors for observing the conductor also shut down, will the musicians still be able to see the conductor and play?” and so on….

I think I don’t need to explain why…

Which mobile number do you call the most?

I hardly call anyone, nor does anyone call me. If I decided to cancel my phone, I don’t think anyone would notice!

What ­or where­ is perfection?

If it is music, music which doesn’t have any bits I dislike.

A perfect world exists only in my imagination where nothing I dislike exists, which I try to recreate in my composition. In a way, that’s the reason why I compose music.

 Who is your favourite hero from fiction (book/comic/film/opera) ­ and why?

Right now? I don’t know….when I was a child, I guess Dragon Ball and all those heroes in Japanese comic books; I am sure any kids in Japan (who were born in late 70s) would say the same.

What’s your favourite ritual?

Taking a long bath where I write emails, sketch, read books etc., but also think. Almost all of my compositional ideas come from the bath. I can’t live in a flat without a bath.

What other talent or skill would you like to possess?

I never thought about it…. even musical talent (since your question is “OTHER talent” so I presume you think that I think I have some musical talent?), do I have a drop of it, or not, I never thought about it…..

I don’t know, I am ok, being like this; maybe this would not be ok for others, but I have always done and am doing everything I want to do in my life, so I don’t think I have any desire for an extra talent or skill in addition to what I have already.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

You can’t have everything, and it is always good not to set your expectations too high so that when something good does happen, however little it is, I will feel positive.

What is the most played piece of music on your MP3 player or in your CD collection?

Secret of the Beehive by David Sylvian.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

