This is Central Saint Martins: Korallia Stergides and Zeynep Satik

Blog banner copy

On Wednesday 10 December, the BFI Southbank plays host to a meeting of music and film as the London Sinfonietta collaborate with students from Central Saint Martins to create Alternative Visions. In our latest quickfire round, two film-makers from the project share their highs, their lows and this time, their best art-related joke:

Korallia Stergides

What do you regard as your greatest artistic achievement?  

To this date (material wise) Art Directing Django Django’s next album cover.

What is your greatest fear?

Ceasing to question.

What’s currently on your coffee table at home?

A forest of plants and my fathers dancing cactus – it moves when you clap.

What was the first recording you ever bought? (Tape, CD, Record etc)

I’d like to say a tape of Elvis Presley’s Golden Records but that was actually my second. My first Tape was Orca (Whale) Sound Recordings, I listen to it to this day.

Describe your film-making style in three words.

Playful, inquisitive, humorous.

If you could have any profession, what would it be?

Other than Artist/Director maybe an Actress/Dancer. Then again if we are talking about a field that I’m not already in, then a Professional Surfer probably!

Who has been the biggest influence in your life so far?

My mother has been the most encouraging person and my father too, he is such a comedian. But I think everyone I have met and everything I have stumbled across has collated to being influential to me as a practitioner and person equally, like a giant soup, very colourful.

Tell us your best art-related joke

Whats blue and spinning? David Hockney’s Bigger Splash painting falling down the stairs. Jee that was terrible.

Zeynep Satik

What do you regard as your greatest artistic achievement?

I don’t think I can answer this question right now as I am in a state where I am still experimenting, learning new things and exploring myself.

What is your greatest fear?

Losing people I care about and I’m petrified of flying as well.

What’s currently on your coffee table at home?

A pot of black coffee left from the morning, my laptop, headphones and Dazed and Confused Magazine.

What was the first recording you ever bought? (Tape, CD, Record etc)

It was a tape of Britney Spears!

Describe your film-making style in three words.

I am more interested in the design process of film making so I would say symbolistic, dreamy and dark.

If you could have any profession, what would it be?

Production Design for film and TV.

Who has been the biggest influence in your life?

My parents have been two of the biggest influences in my life even though their professions are completely different from what I do now. I come from a very scientific family, my Mom and Dad are both doctors but the fact that they’re being so passionate and interested in learning, travelling, seeing and experiencing new things has always inspired me.

Tell us your best art-related joke.

I don’t have any but I find it so funny when people go to a modern art museum and say “ohh I could do that”.

Click here for more information on Alternative Visions and to book tickets.

Leave a Reply

