THROUGH THE LENS: STOCKHAUSEN & BOULEZ

This season we welcome three new students from London College of Communication – Ted Lamb, Martin Cervenansky and Elena McDonough – to our Through the Lens project. They will work with professional photographer and mentor Briony Campbell to document the life of the London Sinfonietta in rehearsal, performance and backstage.

TED LAMB

I am a documentary photographer doing work based around travel and experiences, and was recently awarded runner up in The Guardian’s travel photographer competition on the theme of colour. I have worked closely with live performance and theatre on several occasions with my father having worked as stage manager for The Old Vic in Waterloo. I would consider my work to be bright and colourful, focusing on a variety of subjects and looking particularly at the different ways people make a living and how they get by, no matter the location.

MARTIN CERVENANSKY

Martin Cervenansky

My name is Martin Cervenansky and I’m a freelance photographer based between London, UK and Bratislava, Slovakia. I was born in 1993, got my first camera in 2000 and moved to London in 2013, where I’m currently studying Photojournalism & Documentary Photography at the London College of Communication. I have worked on a wide array of projects ranging from editorial coverage of top level sporting events to documenting daily life in an impoverished, segregated community. My work has been published by several nationwide media outlets in my home country of Slovakia. My professional accomplishments include being shortlisted for Slovakia’s 2015 Picture of the Year Award, multiple Junior Awards at the international photojournalism competition Czech Press Photo, and my 2014 Slovak Press Photo came third place in the category of Sport Stories.

ELENA MCDONOUGH

Elena MacDonough

Elena McDonough is a Scottish-Caymanian documentary photographer and artist based in London. With a focus on ecological issues she hopes to fuse her art and photography with conservation efforts and environmental education. Much of her work explores the relationship between man and nature.

The first Through the Lens photography session took place at rehearsals for our Stockhausen & Boulez concert on Saturday 5 December 2015 at Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall. Conducted by Wolfgang Lishke, our photographers captured players from London Sinfonietta and the Royal Academy of Music Manson Ensemble in action:

Leave a Reply

