HOW TO SET THE SCENE (Tues 6 December 2016)



This instalment of ‘How to Set the Scene’ features a selection of works to get you in the mood for our performance of Schnee by Hans Abrahamsen (Tuesday 6 December at St John’s Smith Square). The playlist features Abrahamsen’s own work alongside pieces from 20th century composers George Crumb and Morton Feldman, whose work might help to prepare you for the sound-world of the canonic Schnee.


Abrahamsen: Double Concerto for violin, piano and string orchestra 

Abrahamsen: Let me tell you 

Abrahamsen: String Quartet No. 4 

Abrahamsen: Piano Concerto

Abrahamsen: Flowersongs, for Recorders

Feldman: Rothko Chapel

Crumb: Dream Sequence (Images II)

Feldman: Violin & String Quartet

Crumb: Echoes of Time and the River (Echoes II) 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: